Any Altium Designer experts??

scubasteve_911

Joined Dec 27, 2007
Hi everyone,

I'm working with the latest Altium Designer and having a bit of an issue. I wish to create very redundant PCB layouts, since I have many parts of my circuit repeating. I would like to keep the communication between the schematic and pcb parts. Also, the subblocks to be routed, need to be connected differently to the FPGA.

Does anyone have experience with making redundant layouts within the PCB?

Steve

scubasteve_911

Joined Dec 27, 2007
Wookie,

Thanks for the reply, but I cannot join the forum and ask questions unless I am a member. I cannot be a member without having a customer number, so you can see the dilemma. I was hoping someone was keen on that program here. I'm pretty good at using it, but I don't know a few things here and there.

Steve

eeboy

Joined Sep 27, 2007
I am a user of Altium Designer... but I don't understand your question.

Are you looking to create a hierarchical design? If so, I would suggest you think it over... five or six times. The idea of re-using portions of your schematics sounds great. Simply using it as you would use a function is a high level programming language. I've done it and it makes the schematic capture portion quick and easy. However, reading the schematics at a later date is very difficult. You are likely to get many complaints from the people who maintain the product (if that is you then it might be less of an issue). Another pain is the annotation. For each instance it appends some sub-string of characters so that you can identify to which instance it belongs. So, your reference designators become extremely long and your silkscreen gets cluttered. I prefer to stick with flat schematics. Cut and paste, reset designators, then automatically annotate.