Analyzing a dual op-amp circuit

d_695

Joined Feb 27, 2011
Hello!

I'm studying for a test, and I wanted to make sure I'm trying to do this right, but I also don't know how to calculate a couple things.

Given that R1=R4=R6=R7=100K, R2= 20K, R3=1K C2=10uF, C1=1000uF, C3=50pF and Vcc = 15V,​

Untitled.png

a. Draw the DC model for this circuit​
This is what I get by changing the capacitors to open circuits:​

Untitled2.png

b. Find the bias voltage at pin 6 of op amp U1.

Pins 2 and 3 of U2 are at 7.5 volts. The output voltage of U2 is also 7.5 volts, since pin 2 of U2 is connected to pin 6 of U2. This is connected to pins 2 and 3 of U1, which are both going to be 7.5 volts. Since both those pins are also connected to pin 6 of U1, the bias voltage is going to be 7.5 volts. PSPICE gives approximately the same answer, when I simulate the DC model of this circuit.​

c. Find the low-frequency cut-off.

Am I correct in assuming that it's 1/(2*(Pi)*1000*0.000010) = 15.9155 Hz?​

d. Estimate the voltage gain at 1KHz of the signal source V3 to R3.

Now here, I don't know how to calculate this. Simulating the circuit in PSPICE gives me a gain of 1.05 volts at 1 KHz, using the following values for V3:​

Rich (BB code):
AC=1
VOFF=0 VAMPL=1​
FREQ=1KHz
e. What load does V3 see?

Power is voltage times current, but given the circuit, I'm kind of lost, even though it's probably something simple.​

Thanks in advance for any help!​

mjhilger

Joined Feb 28, 2011
I think a) and b) look fine;
c) You just took the output into C2 & R3; I'd have to do some math, but are you sure you can ignore the integrator of C3 & R1? I think they might come into play. I have not written the eqn's so maybe not.
d)I don't know what you are doing in your class, but when he asks for gain - is it just the pure peak to peak gain? Or does he want the vector gain (amplitude and phase)?