Analogue Switches - Output Behaviour

jbriaris

Joined Apr 11, 2013
Hi All

I'm a relative newbie to all things electronics and have a question regarding the output from a Dual SPDT analogue switch.

I have implemented the ADG884 switch in LTspice and get the expected voltage levels (1.25V and 1.75V) at the outputs D1 and D2 when toggling the switch with a PULSE waveform at IN1 and IN2 (see circ1.png attached).

However, when I connect D1 and D2 to give the single output Dout (see circ2.png attached), the votages are greatly reduced, i.e., ~0.62V and 0.88V.

I'm trying to understand why this is happening. Is the voltage feeding back into the switch causing this behaviour? Should I buffer the outputs before joining them? I'm sure there is an obvious reason, and would greatly appreciate someone pointing me in the right direction.:)

Thanx!

I'm sure there is an obvious reason for this, e.g. the voltage feeding back into the switch causing this behaviour? and I would very much appreciate a pointer in the right direction.

Attachments

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Diodes use up about .6 volts when you pass current through them. The best you can do to minimize this in one quick move is to use Shottky diodes. They waste less voltage than other diodes.

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
If you want to switch between two inputs, just use one spdt switch, e.g., S1. Connect V1 to S1a and V2 to S1b. Don't use S2. You only need one control input. If you want dead time, use your circuit, but leave S1a and S1b floating, instead of connecting them to ground.
The way you are doing it now, each switch output connects to either a voltage source or to ground.
#12 apparently thought that your D's referred to diodes.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
True. Completely fooled me. He's talking about D1 and D2 and losing .62 volts but there isn't a diode in either of the drawings, so I guessed that "D" meant a diode in the drawings.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008