amplifier/switch advice

solis365

Joined Nov 5, 2008
hi everyone, im fairly new here (post # 2), but i thought it would be good to get into a good online community for electronics as it is my livelihood (well, will be once i graduate... I am currently a student)

basically i am designing a microcontroller-controlled (sic) LED adjustable-color room light. basically put a few strings of 1W or 3W Red, Green, and Blue high-power LEDs (probably luxeons or something like that) together, and use a microcontroller to PWM each channel (RGB) to adjust brightness and color. the input will probably be something like a potentiometer through the ADC so there is a dial that just adjusts color. also thought about doing a capacitive touch-sense pad where X changes color and Y adjusts brightness... BUT I'm still in the design stages and little extras like that can be ironed out later.

what I need now is a way to drive high power LEDs from a PIC. Obviously I cannot drive them directly; current requirements are too high. I would need some sort of amplification or at least switching, where the PIC controls the gate.

I picked this project because I don't forsee the amplifier stage being particularly tricky. I am about to take a formal class in FET operation and amplifier design (followed by a class in BJT operation and amp. design). the project is a good mix of things I already know (microcontrollers, basic circuit design/analysis) and things i havent formally learned yet (transistors/amplifiers). so I'm coming here for help with the bit i dont know and wish to learn about.

thanks