amature capacitor question

babbock

Joined Jan 24, 2011
Ok I will preface this with the following: I am pretty new to electronics. I took a class or two in high school, but nothing very advanced, so forgive me :)

I do not fully understand how you can charge capacitors over a somewhat lengthy period of time, and discharge all at once. My understanding is that the timing constant was the same on charge and discharge.

Here is the scenerio I am puzzled about:
You have a low current low voltage power source, say a few AA batteries. You use them to slowly charge a capacator bank(to a few hundred volts), then discharge in a split second.

If using a resistor to charge, i guess that would slow the charging, but would end up putting less in, or am I missing something?

davebee

Joined Oct 22, 2008
The resistor won't result in less charge getting in because as the capacitor fills with charge, its effective resistance rises, so the series charging resistor becomes so small in proportion to the total resistance that it can be ignored.

It will slow the flow of charge in, as you've noted, but given enough time, the capacitor will reach the same charge, no matter what series resistor is used.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
An example of what you are curious about is a camera's electronic flash attachment.

You turn on the flash, and you hear the whine of an inductive boost circuit charging up a capacitor to perhaps several hundred volts, which takes a number of seconds.

When you then click the shutter, the energy stored in the capacitor is then discharged into a flash tube, which ionizes the gas in the tube for a brief moment in time; the capacitor is deeply discharged.

Keep in mind that high voltage stored in capacitors can be quite hazardous to people, even lethal. Even small currents that pass through the torso may cause ventricular fibrillation, which quickly leads to unconsciousness and death.