Ahhhh, Employed Again.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Pay is not as good as I would like, and I'm not impressed with the working conditions, but I have a job.

I am a maintenance tech with an automotive parts manufacturer. I am a temp for 90 days, but if I prove out I will become full time. I've pretty much decided after I become a full employee I will start another job search, but like the old saying says it is easier to find a job when you have a job.

The first day pretty much showed me what this job would be like. They had a enormous parts cleaner (the parts are small, but there are many of them). The cleaner is around 30 feet long, 15 feet tall, and 15 feet wide. The machine dumped several barrels of cleaner inside while we were looking though the pipes (most are over a foot in diameter) for a lost part. The part was not important, the fact it was floating inside the machine was. There wasn't much room inside, it is a good thing I lost a lot of weight. There is not room to wear a ventilator mask and crawl and climb around inside, and I do not think breathing these fumes are good at all. I drove home with an unpleasant buzz that was still there the next morning. So much for safety.

I just hope I can cut it though. They are promising 7 days a week (with OT rates). I think this is supposed to make up for the low pay. I will be a little more scarce, but it is for a good cause.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Bill,

Wear your mask.
What mask?

I have worn them in previous jobs, if I were to wear it I couldn't do the job, and would not have a job soon thereafter.

If I complain publically I also wouldn't have a job soon thereafter.

Better to get a new job when I can later. It is not an everyday affair, they assure me, for whatever that is worth.

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
I am happy that you found something, but I worry about your health. Hopefully, there won't be many days inside a parts washer!

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
Ah the differences between people!