AC voltage dimmer with Triacs

Jstuyfzand

Joined Apr 13, 2016
Hello,

I am making a ball mill, and I am using a vacuum cleaner motor for the tumbling of the can.

The can is directly connected to the axel of the motor, and I need something to control the speed, because
30000rpm is not going to mill anything.
I wanted to buy a voltage regulator along the lines of this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/220v-AC-200...478686?hash=item541f4e4f5e:g:8QsAAOSwpDdVXc27

But I cant wait for 30 days shipping, not only ebay, and I want to learn things myself.
I live in the netherlands and I can buy parts from conrad.nl, they have things like triacs, diacs, capacitors and potentiometers for cheap and
fast shipping.

I have seen multiple triac circuits, but always low powered, I need 1500-2000watts for my vacuum cleaner motor to be on the safe side.
I am still a newbie to electronics, so I cant modify such circuits to fit my needs, and I was wondering if anyone of you had a high powered circuit design
lying around :)

The component on ebay looks very easy, but I cant find the exact components anywhere.
I think and hope turning something low power into high power is just changing some components, any help is greatly appreciated!

(I have 230V ac)

Thanks in advance

Jstuyfzand

Marley

Joined Apr 4, 2016
You are going to need some sort of reduction gearing or belts. Even with a triac speed control the motor still needs to be going at least 25% of full speed to get any power out of it.

I would go on ebay and find a motor with a built-in gearbox.

Jstuyfzand

Joined Apr 13, 2016
You are going to need some sort of reduction gearing or belts. Even with a triac speed control the motor still needs to be going at least 25% of full speed to get any power out of it.

I would go on ebay and find a motor with a built-in gearbox.
I want to make a voltage dimmer in general, also for other motors.