AC permanent magnet motor

drufft

Joined Feb 21, 2013
Hello,
I'm a power systems engineer at a coal preparation plant. I work on AC and DC systems all the time. Naturally my sister stumped me with a Christmas display. Basically, it drags a little train around in a circle via magnetics. This year the motor ran backwards and the train is not set up to do that, it slides off the display. The motor is a tiny,universal 12vac with CCW written on it. The case came apart okay yielding a bunch of gearing a coil wound on a plastic hoop and a driven magnet glued to the rotor shaft. First, how does that work. Shouldn't the pulsing AC waveform simply vibrate the magnet. Second, can I reverse direction. It looks like it's going in the nameplate direction but my OLDER sister say NO WAY.

Thanx

Dave

DerStrom8

Joined Feb 20, 2011
Hello,
I'm a power systems engineer at a coal preparation plant. I work on AC and DC systems all the time. Naturally my sister stumped me with a Christmas display. Basically, it drags a little train around in a circle via magnetics. This year the motor ran backwards and the train is not set up to do that, it slides off the display. The motor is a tiny,universal 12vac with CCW written on it. The case came apart okay yielding a bunch of gearing a coil wound on a plastic hoop and a driven magnet glued to the rotor shaft. First, how does that work. Shouldn't the pulsing AC waveform simply vibrate the magnet. Second, can I reverse direction. It looks like it's going in the nameplate direction but my OLDER sister say NO WAY.

Thanx

Dave
Hi there Dave. Welcome to AllAboutCircuits!

As Bill suggested, a photo would be very helpful. I don't really understand how this is set up. :p
Thanks,
Matt

DerStrom8

Joined Feb 20, 2011
Whoops, got it. Sketch of overall setup. Can follow with motor drawing?
Ah, I understand now.