A Fresher's Question...

mpnvineeth

Joined Sep 3, 2012
Hi all,
I am a fresher in the realm of microcontrolers.
I wish to start learning it. I wish to start it through PIC.
Which should I start using? 16F series, 18F series? or the higher?
Whichever it be, please specify the IC number.
another question is, which one is better, starting from assembly language or using C?

I look forward to the words of those numerous pioneers...

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I have a standard answer to this question.

There is always a huge debate on starting from assembler or C or some other higher language. Assembly may seem simpler then C but I am not convinced. I've used both, but way prefer to use C. Keep in mind I was a programmer long before I ever touched a PIC, where I started programming them in assembly.

If you do go the way of assembly stay with one of the parts with the 33 instruction set (ie, not the 18 series or above). Assembly in the higher units is a huge hurdle to jump and one I have not bothered to follow, I use C for them. The assembler program (part of MPLAB) and the C compiler ("integrates" into MPLAB) are both free to download.

Either way, start with one of the dev boards kits from the linked post above. One has tutorials in assembler, the other in C. The tutorials are free to download to get your feet wet today.

I would start with one of the little PIC's maybe 12f510.
PIC's are notorious for having hidden bits in a register somewhere that needs setting/resetting before the PIC will work normally.
I go through every register setting them up until they are all in a known state.
Sometimes lazy programmers dont do this and find the PIC doesnt work right.
Weak pull ups on a port or having the a2d be on when you are trying to use the port for i/o logic.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
...PIC's are notorious for having hidden bits in a register somewhere that needs setting/resetting before the PIC will work normally...