8051 led blink problem

aashishaac

Joined May 10, 2014
Hi I am aashish, I am a pure beginner to 8051 microcontrollers and want to Blink a LED with it (as my first test).

But at the end the LED did not blink :mad::mad:, I performed the following steps,
1. Generate Hex file from keil uVision
2. Flash the AT89S52 with this hex file using a 8051 programmer.
3. Connect a LED to AT89S52 on breadboard to test my work.

Please have a look at the word document : https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5NYQC3oiHcHcjh2a3RBOW5famc/edit?usp=sharing to see the detailed steps that I have followed along with the connection of LED to AT89S52 on breadboard to test my work

So where I was wrong? my program is incorrect/incomplete?? Or Does the AT89S52 not have an on chip clock? Whether I have to connect an external crystal?? Or anything I am missing….??

Please help me I am in a great need of it. Please help.

Thanks in advance.

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Did you check out Ian Rogers' 8051 tutorial #1 ? He detailed how to blink the LED with ASM and C.

8051 tutorial 1

The RST in the schematic you linked was left unconnected. I remember you have to connect that pin to ground in order for it to work.

Allen

Arm_n_Legs

Joined Mar 7, 2007
The reset (RST) is not connected. Connect the RST to a 10uF cap. The other end of the cap connect to Vcc.

I think this IC does not hv an internal oscillator. You may need to connect up the crystal with 2 external caps.

aashishaac

Joined May 10, 2014
Thanks all of you for your fruitful replies........

Can any body please ensure me that whether my program is correct ?

And please send me a sample LED hookup circuit diagram

Thanks in advance

aashishaac

Joined May 10, 2014
I changed the circuit to this,

but the same problem persists....LED glows but not blink.

For a while I thought that if my AT89S52 IC is damaged but if it were it was not and even now get program correctly.