7 Transistors Triangle Wave Generator

iimagine

Joined Dec 20, 2010
After many days of messing around with LTSpice, I came up with this 7 Transistors Triangle Wave Generator circuit. It gives out a very nice wave form, highly linear. The only problem with it is that when I change the capacitor value down to 100pF or lower the output is no longer linear and I can not figure out why. Can someone help me out please? I have not build and tested this circuit yet, if anyone doubt it would work please explain as I am still learning
Thanks in advance.

Attachments

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
First, why do you want to? if you are looking for higher frequencies, make sure the transistor can handle those frequencies - check for specific brand and submodel DATASHEET.

If it should work, try making the r3/r4 voltage divider lower resistance. 100k or even less.

Is there a background for this circuit? Has anyone said it should handle smaller capacitance?

iimagine

Joined Dec 20, 2010
Thanks all for responding to my post

To GopherT:
Higher frequencies is what I am looking for, yes. I will look up datasheet as you suggested. Thanks

Lowering r3/r4 voltage divider too much will mess up the symmetry as it will take longer for Q6 to discharge the capacitor, and less for Q5 to charge it. the output wave form still bent

This is my circuit, I came up with it, no one has seen this yet, so there is no back ground

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
After many days of messing around with LTSpice, I came up with this 7 Transistors Triangle Wave Generator circuit. It gives out a very nice wave form, highly linear. The only problem with it is that when I change the capacitor value down to 100pF or lower the output is no longer linear and I can not figure out why. Can someone help me out please? I have not build and tested this circuit yet, if anyone doubt it would work please explain as I am still learning
Thanks in advance.