6V Motor shutoff

hoptown

Joined Aug 25, 2013
The project is pretty simple, 6V Motor will be running at a load, designed to run at the max efficiency under load, ~1.4A, the stall current is 7.8A. Since the mechanism components will not handle the torque output of the motor at 7.8A, I need a shutoff when the load increases and the current hits around 2A or 2.5A max. The motor will be running forward/reverse by manual switch.

I don't have a lot of real estate to do this in, but I was hoping there is some components that I can just hardwire in (without programming) that will shut the motor down at that specific current.

My research including this forum has pointed me in the direction of current sense resistors as a solution, but not sure what will shut the motor down. Essentially, I need a component to sense the current and then send zero current to motor, send signal to a component to shut the motor down.

Any help would be appreciated, my background is mechanical, so sorry if this sounds too basic.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I think I'd use a very low ohms resistor, maybe 0.1Ω or less, and a comparator to sense voltage across that shunt rising above a reference voltage. The output of the comparator could drive a MOSFET switch.

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
+1
I think you will also need some time delay which ignores the normal staring in-rush current.
Adding a capacitor would do.

Last edited:

hoptown

Joined Aug 25, 2013
Thanks for the quick feedback, I'll try the resistor/comparator and review the MOSFET switch and add a time delay. Do you think 0.5s would be sufficient time for the starting current to drop down to normal?

tubeguy

Joined Nov 3, 2012
Thanks for the quick feedback, I'll try the resistor/comparator and review the MOSFET switch and add a time delay. Do you think 0.5s would be sufficient time for the starting current to drop down to normal?
I'm thinking some experimentation will be needed, depending on the load.