6v Motor project with controls. Need

chall1525

Joined Nov 6, 2013
Hi, Im working on a project and needing suggestions on what motor I would need and some type of timed controller. Keep in mind I am a complete newb to electronic motors and what not, so keep it layman as possible.

Thanks in advance for any help

Here is what I need out of the motor
1. smaller the better
2. be able to pull around 10lbs
3. needs to rotate both ways
4. rotate slowly, 5-20 rpm
5. be able to control speed with a potentiometer would be a plus

Here is what I need of a controller
im needing the motor to go clockwise for 5 seconds, hold for 3 seconds, then go counter clockwise for 5 seconds, and hold for 3 seconds and repeat (times are probably going to change, but that's the idea). if there is a way to make that programmable by button that would be great too.
For Example id like to set the pattern by holding the button for said 5 seconds then 3 seconds to set the pattern.

I realize this is a shot in the dark, but without having any knowledge of this stuff im lost. Any help would be great, more than anything a direction to look would help as I really haven't had much luck finding what I need.

Again thanks for any help

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
2. be able to pull around 10lbs
You need to clarify 'Pull 10lbs'?

Here is what I need of a controller
im needing the motor to go clockwise for 5 seconds, hold for 3 seconds, then go counter clockwise for 5 seconds, and hold for 3 seconds and repeat (times are probably going to change, but that's the idea). if there is a way to make that programmable by button that would be great too.
For Example id like to set the pattern by holding the button for said 5 seconds then 3 seconds to set the pattern.
Is there any need for so many revolutions in this time frame?
Or just run for the period, regardless?
Any particular RPM?
Max.

chall1525

Joined Nov 6, 2013