60Hz Calibration

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
OK, start with this circuit...

I used my DVM freq counter and verified it is easy to adjust and will hit 60 Hz. The pot adjustment is really slow (a good thing).

How can I use the lights 60Hz to calibrate this? My early idea (which I haven't tried yet) is to use a CDS cell (aka LDR) to switch a transistor and beat it against this oscillator. The LED will slowly blink, the closer to 60 Hz it gets the slower it will blink. This way, a total noob with no test equipment can calibrate this to 60 hz.

Does anyone know how fast a CDS cell responds to AC? I would also like any other ideas that might apply, keeping parts cheap and parts count low.

Attachments

Last edited:

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
A CdS cell may be just about fast enough (I've heard they're good up to 200 Hz or so for small changes) but really, a solution would be to measure the mains frequency directly, not the lights, because what if you have a CFL (these flicker at 1kHz+) or an LED lamp (flashing at whatever frequency they feel like with a SMPS or even at 100-120Hz if they're cheap and only have a resistor)...

One way would be to measure the signal from an el-cheapo wall wart that puts out DC. These wall warts have a lot of ripple, at around 120Hz (in the US) and 100Hz (elsewhere).

I can think of a circuit like this, as attached.

This has the added bonus of also getting its power supply from its frequency source, so the 555 can be powered from this. The 5V regulator will hopefully prevent the filter capacitor on the 5V side interfering with the frequency measurement. There cannot be too many filter caps on the input, because then the circuit will not work, as it is measuring ripple. Also, I am not so sure how stable the regulator will be with an input from as low as 10V to as high as 14-15V.

Attachments

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009