6 months Baby, shock of 220V AC-less then a sec

tractable

Joined Dec 30, 2009
About 6 years ago my cousin then of 6 months age was crawling on the floor and touched a bare wire of 220 V wall socket. I noticed a jerk in his body and thats it.
Today he is a patient of Autism (Brain disorder), something which is almost incurable, why it origintes is also unknown. I always thought, could such a shock can affect the brain by any way....? I am not a doctor but I've always given loads of guidance to his parents.
Only I have seen this electric shock and purpose of posting here is to get an idea which I can share with his doctor.

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Which wire did your cousin touched? If it was only one wire. It could have been that by crawling around the floor. Some static electricity was build up. And then your cousin touched the metal it was discharged. I think a real electric shook would have caused a lot of crying.

retched

Joined Dec 5, 2009
I would not delve too deeply into finding if this was the cause. This only helps place blame.

If it were you who left the wire exposed or another family member, the emotional damage of knowing or thinking that you may have had a hand in causing this childs autism is not going to help anyone.

but ANYTHING is possible. Autism is a neural communication disorder. The symptoms of neural communications disorders can be onset by electrocution.

But to continue in a pattern of autistic development seems unlikely. The electrocution would cause problems at the current state of development, but the body will continue to grow normally.

tractable

Joined Dec 30, 2009
He touched the live (red) wire, and yes it is a matter related to emotions, though the electrician was called to repair the socket but this had happened.