5v regulator getting hot.. also mystery problem

Mnfwctbrb

Joined Jul 18, 2012
Forgive me but I am a bit of a novice when it comes to building electronics. I am making a usb charger that will take 6-9 v via batteries. Possibly more. I bought a 5v regulator and rigged it up. I have two issues.

First, the regulator gets way hot. I actually found this forum by googling my problem, the solution there with a greater input was to add some resistor or something. I was wondering what exactly it is I need to add based on my power source being 6-9 v. If at all possible I would like to have the ability to use a larger power source, and I can not have a heat sink as this is basically just a cable.

Problem two is a bit harder to find answers to.. as is, my cable is able to take 6-9 v and take it down to 5, and successfully power every usb device I have except for one- my phone. It even powers my old phones.. but not my Motorola DROID x2. What might the reason for this be?

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
First we need to know ur 5V reg number and what kind of devices u are connecting to it, meaning, we need the device spec too

Pestatio

Joined Jul 16, 2012
I can only speculate, 5V regulator is a 7805? Mostly the regulator overheats when to much current is drawn. Like when it short circuits? Basically just a cable? Meaning there is no circuit board? Did you attach some capacitors from the input to ground and output to ground? This will help if the input voltage varies a lot. This might be why your motorola does not want to charge... All of this is only speculating according to the info you have given us.

Markd77

Joined Sep 7, 2009
The thing is, a well behaved USB device will draw up to 500mA.
If you are using 9V then the regulator has to drop 4V at 500mA which is 2W. It's going to need a heatsink. This could be as simple as putting it in an aluminium box, with the regulator (in TO-220 package) bolted to the box.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010