5V Arduino UPS

The Chosen 0ne

Joined Apr 15, 2014
Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum.
I needed some ideas or figures that would help me build a backup power system for running an arduino (nano+couple of servos). The system would primarily run on 5v received from an adapter/wall wart, however, during an event of loss of power, the UPS system would kick in and keep the system running. I was thinking about using Li-ion or Li-po batteries. But it requires the UPS system to stop charging at 4.2V for this case but recharge when when the battery voltage drops again. Any idea?
Sorry for the long post :p

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Welcome to AAC. We hope you find this site very useful.

Your post was not long by any means. It is better to take the extra words to explain clearly what you are attempting to do.

Good luck on your project.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Lithium batteries are pretty picky about their charging current. Maybe you'd be better off with (4) ni-cad AA batteries?

sirch2

Joined Jan 21, 2013
Is size a consideration? If not I'd think about a 6V lead acid assuming your Arduino has a regulator so you don't need to supply it with 5V. You could then just run the whole thing off a 6V trickle charger.

The Chosen 0ne

Joined Apr 15, 2014
Is size a consideration? If not I'd think about a 6V lead acid assuming your Arduino has a regulator so you don't need to supply it with 5V. You could then just run the whole thing off a 6V trickle charger.
Unfortunately, it is. I have to mount it on a door and have to control some things based on command provided through a bluetooth module on the arduino or from a vibration sensor. That why I wanted to use lithium batteries as they have high power density with low weight/mass footprint. And it is also supposed to keep the system operating for a good 2-3hrs. I was planning to use a 3.7V 3Ah lipo pack.

The Chosen 0ne

Joined Apr 15, 2014