555 timer project idea, need help

adamclark

Joined Oct 4, 2013
hello all,, So I have a project I want to build. I recently scavenged an RGB LED from a scanner. I tore the scanner apart because I found an instructable to build a cool desk lamp from the super bright white bulb in most scanners.. Well the one found and ripped apart had an RGB LED in it instead of a bulb. So I had a few issues making white light from it, but im getting that worked out with help in another area of the forums here. So I wanted to post this here to keep things separate.. Ok, with that said heres what I want to do.. I did a search of this site to figure out how to get the LED to light white and I read a few guys here talking about using 555 timers to control the colors with PWM. I have a dozen of the 555's and got to thinking about it.. So heres what I want to do... I want to build a desk lamp with the RGB and be able to control the colors with a single switch and some 555's. Now im kinda new to this and ive done a couple of 555 projects so Im not really familiar with the timer. right now im just interested in getting the light to work with a single switch to turn on red, blue, green, and white using 555 timers.. after that's figured out I might want to do some color fading and other cool things with it.. Thanks

adamclark

Joined Oct 4, 2013
I have solved the issue with getting the color of my RGB LED right in another thread and asked for it to be closed. I am ready to move forward with the 555 PWM part of my project and would appreciate any ideas/help to be posted in this thread. Thank you

adamclark

Joined Oct 4, 2013

adamclark

Joined Oct 4, 2013
Yes, you will need three.

Do you know the current limit on each color for this LED?