555 Timer Help please help me

memyselfandi

Joined May 22, 2009
I am a newbie to the 555 and I will say that I need some major help. I need to build an automatic playback circuit that plays every 10 minutes but I don't know where to start. I have seen this done but did not see it first hand, Please help me figure this out, I already have the recording module but I need to build the other half that triggers and auto resets every 10 minutes. Thank you in advance.

JP

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
My blogs have several projects, along with theories of operation, that might be of some help. There are several people on this site (including myself) that will draw a schematic for a custom application if we know what you are after. The 555 is one of my bailiwicks (but I'm not alone).

The 555 Projects

Bill's Index

Just describe what you are after as good as you can.

What is this playback circuit you are talking about? Schematics and pictures really help in this. Do you want to record 10 minutes, send a 1 second reset, or what?

Last edited:

memyselfandi

Joined May 22, 2009
I am working on an advertisment circuit that triggers a pre recorded message to play over a wireless audio transmition signal. I already have the recording circut but i need the timer circuit that makes it all possible, but I also need it to auto reset to trigger every 10 minutes.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
OK, it sounds like you want to have a signal that is 10 minutes off, then one second on. I know I'm repeating myself, but it helps to make things clear. BRB with the basic configuration...

BTW, take the time to click on the links.

OK, here is a reference sheet I drew up a while back. You want the oscillator on the bottom.

Going through the math (bear with me)...

C = 1000µF
Ra = 1MΩ pot (actual value is 857KΩ, but RC timers are not that exact)
Rb = 1.5KΩ