555 timer design

Katherine1

Joined Mar 1, 2013
Hi everyone.. I'm sorry if i ask my ques here since i'm unable to post in the new thread (idk y)
I wanted to come up with a circuit that acts as a reminder. The general concept is that when I turn ON the switch, the timer will be triggered. After selecting the time interval, timer starts to coundown and a buzzer will beep to remind me that my time is up. I have to turn OFF the switch or else the buzzer will remain beeping.

I intend to use a 555 timer, piezo buzzer,9V battery and microswitch.
The time interval is set to 15mins, 30 mins and 60 mins (3 different buttons)

My problems are,
1. Is 555 timer able to run up to 60 mins?
2. How should I connect the resistors and capacitors in order to obtain the time I wanted?
3. Is there any similar diagrams that I can refer to?

Thank you for any helps and sorry for any mistakes because I am new to electronics and circuit.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
I typed a full answer last night, and then the site crashed. Opps. So here goes again.

I'm one of the guys who love the 555 around here. I helped a user named brozizds with a project that sounded much like yours, you ought to review some of his threads.

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/search.php?searchid=4826609

Count down is a bit of a misnomer, since that implies digits and a display, something you will not get with a 555. I did have a circuit that used bargraph displays to show you approximately where in the timing cycle the 555 was.

I have also written quite a few articles here on the nifty little chip...

Bill's Blog

555 Monostable

While I don't give private tutorials, if you have a question or need specific help post it publically then send me a PM pointing to the URL.

Be sure not to try to highjack a thread, this is against the rules. Instead, point to the thread you have a question about and take it from there on your own thread.

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008