555 PWM Fan controller start up

Sam__

Joined Dec 21, 2012
Hey,

I'm new to this forum so please go easy on me. A little about me: I'm a second year EE student, but oddly not spent much time actually making circuits, I just seem to be doing maths all the time. Anyway I like playing with electronic things and figuring stuff out.

I'm currently reacquainting myself with my breadboard and all these free TI chips I have by making a nice simple 555 PWM fan controller.

I have designed and tested a nice controller that allows for 11-96% duty cycle via a VR. All well and good. But I was thinking what about the fan start up. If the duty cycle is set low then the fan may not spin up and this is not what I want.

I've been trying to think how I could create a pulse to the fan for the 1-2s it needs to get moving but I'm stuck. I thought about having a monostable 555 that gives a pulse on power on but can't figure out how to get it to only give the pulse when the system is powered up. Is there a way with a monostable 555 or is there another way I'm completely missing that would be easier? I just need a pulse for 1-2s to help the fan spin up at the start.

I was wondering if anyone could help me? Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
You could use a MOSFET, a resistor and a capacitor. Does the PMW switch the high-side or low-side of the fan motor power?

Sam__

Joined Dec 21, 2012
You could use a MOSFET, a resistor and a capacitor. Does the PMW switch the high-side or low-side of the fan motor power?
That sounds like an idea, what would the circuit for that look like? I've not got any experience using MOSFETs.

The current circuit is a 2n2222 switching the low side but the plan is to get a slightly higher rated transistor in there to power fans up to 10-15W.

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
Is the fan in the Drain side or the Source side, and is it an Nfet or Pfet,