555 Oscillation between 20 and 30KHz

mushaba

Joined Aug 22, 2010
Hello to you all

I'm studying the last days the timmer 555 and i have a difficulty finding something out..At first i use a soundcard based program for oscilloscope and spectrum analyser named "Daqarta" and i'm trying to measure the frequency of an output pulse at 25 KHz,but the software seems to limit at 22 KHz,how can i determine which is the max frequency my laptop's soundcard can measure (HP 6730s)??

Also i'm using 555 Timmer V4.1 software and i wonder if there is a way to make 555 oscilate between 20 and 30 KHz range by one single trimmer resistor between pin 7 and pin 8

Please excuse my bad English,here i hope to gethelp,provide help if i can and make some friends!

mushaba

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
A laptop sound card will have a cut-off frequency at half its sampling rate. The sampling rate is usually 44,100 Hz; half that is 22,050Hz and this is the maximum frequency your sound card can measure, which correlates with your readings. The reason for this cut-off band is that it is just beyond the range of hearing.

A 555 timer can oscillate at 20 to 30 KHz, but you will have difficulty if you are breadboarding it. When I was breadboarding my 555 timer circuit I was able to go up to 300 KHz or so, that was without a capacitor: the breadboard's capacitance was acting as a parasitic capacitor, and the cap charging/discharging waveform was badly distorted by the inductance of the traces in the breadboard.

The formula for a 555 timer frequency is:
\(F = {{1.44} \over {C(R1+R2)}}\)
Frequency in Hertz.

I worked out C = 6.8nF, R1 = 6.8k, R2 = 1.5k to give 25,513 Hz.

mushaba

Joined Aug 22, 2010
tom66 thank you for your reply