4N25 Optocoupler (Optoisolator)

chumarkrch

Joined Nov 2, 2009
This is my first time positing to the forums and I am simply trying to use the 4N25 optoisolator to electrically isolate a DC voltage so it can be sensed by a microprocessor on the output side. Here is the basic circuit I am using:

This is the same circuit I've seen on other websites describing how to use the 4N25. I have varied the R1 and R2 values from 100 Ohms up to 10 KOhms and varied the input V1 from 0 to 10 V but the output either remains at some constant value in the mV or it is equal to V2. However, it never is equal to V1 which is what it should do.

Somebody please let me know what I am doing wrong.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
They're designed to be used as optically isolated logic switches, not as linear devices.

Your circuit is wrong. R2 needs to be in the wire that goes to +5v instead of between pin 5 and Vout. Wired the way it is, you would always read 5v on the output.

The pin numbers for 4 and 6 are in the wrong place; exchange them.

The emitter side (on the left) has a Vf of around 1.2v @10mA. Calculate your current limiting resistor R1 as:
Rlimit = (Vsupply - 1.2v)/10mA
So, if your V1 is either 5v or 0v, then:
Rlimit = (5v-1.2v)/10mA = 3.8/0.01 = 380 Ohms. Use the closest standard value, or use resistors in series or parallel to get 380 Ohms.

The 4N25 has a current transfer ratio of 20%
Don't expect the output to sink much current. Use a 2.5k to 3k resistor for R2.

BMorse

Joined Sep 26, 2009
This is my first time positing to the forums and I am simply trying to use the 4N25 optoisolator to electrically isolate a DC voltage so it can be sensed by a microprocessor on the output side. Here is the basic circuit I am using: