433mhz transmitter controlled by 12v timer

007bigd

Joined May 22, 2013
Hello... little unfamiliar with what I am trying to do, but I am hoping someone could help steer me in the right direction.

Basically I have a remote start generator, the key fob of course transmits at 433mhz. I am looking for some sort of 12v timer actuated transmitter to replace the key fob, so the generator can start and then shut off at predetermined time.

Ideally I need a 12 volt timer that can signal the transmitter an on time and an off time. Then The transmitter that will signal the generator reciever on and off.

I realize there are 2 ways to do this, by hardwiring the timer into the receiver circuit OR providing a rf signal to do the job of the key fob which is the route I would like to take. The FCC ID# is YA3V750 on the back of the key fob if that helps at all.

Does this sound at all feasible provided what ive mentioned? Thanks so much for the help and as a newbie, I appologize for my lack of understanding how to go about what I need. I have searched and searched and I come to you for help :D

007bigd

Joined May 22, 2013
Why not just use a timer directly and forget the radio?
That really does seem to be the easiest and most direct route, I agree. But supplying the correct voltage to the correct circuit kind of worries me, when I dont what the controller operates on. I figure IF I can supply the frequency it needs to start and shut off and by doing so, would limit the level of tinkering with the controller and potential for me ruining it,lol. Im thinking in terms of less reconfiguring of the unit itself and more so configuring a timer actuated signal. But ideally if I knew the workings and/or how to test and measure the values of the receiver/controller that would be simpler.

So unless I take this thing apart and figure the workings of the controller, id like to stick to modifying a transmitter via 12v timer.