3A Fuse Not Breaking

drguildo

Joined Jan 15, 2014
I'm a complete beginner so please excuse the ignorance of my post.

I'm working my way through the Make: Electronics book and one of the first exercises involves fitting a 1.5V AA battery to a battery holder and attaching the leads to a 3A blade fuse.

Although the book says that the element should break "almost immediately", it doesn't seem to break even after I've held the leads there a number of seconds. Am I doing something wrong?

One side of the fuse says "iMAXX 3" and the other says "32 V", if that's any help.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Are you sure the instructions did not say to attach a D battery or a car battery?
You're trying to tow a car with a mouse. The AA battery has too much internal resistance to deliver more than 3 amps.

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
1.5V cells cannot break 3A fuse, Mate.
Not even 9V batteries can do tht.

But if u try with 12V motor cycle battery, it will.
But DOING THIS IS DANGEROUS. BATTERY CAN LEAK OR EXPLODE

DO NOT TRY IT.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
It all depends on the condition/charge of the battery and its chemistry and internal resistance.
This will determine its short circuit capacity.
AA's alone CAN have sufficient short circuit capacity that would cause a fuse to open.

One datasheet for a battery states 181 milliohms of resistance (internal impedance) and a 1.5V nominal out.
1.5/.181 = 8.2 Amp short circuit capacity.

drguildo

Joined Jan 15, 2014
That's crazy. Why would the person who wrote this book think it could? I mean I believe what you're saying I just can't think why they would put this in the book without at least trying it.

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Trying to blow the fuse with an AA cell will deplete the cell very quickly if the fuse does not blow immediately. Sounds like a daft experiment to me.

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009