300W LED Grow Light

Dan K

Joined Jul 30, 2010
I decided I want to test out LED technology in the growing environment. I hear very good things. Problem is the pre-built grow lights on the market are very expensive, not worth it. I figure I can cut the cost down a TON if I just make my own. The only requirements are that it is safe and reliable. I am dedicated and willing to learn.

Right now I plan on using 100 Red & Blue spectrum LEDs that are 3w each. What is the best way to wire all this up? I have no knowledge of LEDs besides the very basics. I have been looking for a place to start picking up info specifically for my project but I have not been finding good results. I am strictly confused on how to wire everything/what components I need. I have no problems constructing a proper housing with a fan or whatever to cool it a bit. I just need some help getting started so I can understand whats going on, anyone have any useful links relevant to this project?

How hard of a project is this from someone who is a noob? 1-10 rating? If anyone has any how-to information or diagrams that'd be helpful.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
<snip>

Let's see a 150W high pressure sodium fixture/bulb = $100.00 (times 2 for 300W=$200.00)
Now 100 x 3W LED's at $5.00 each if you get a great deal = $500.
But assuming you have calculated needing 300W of typical lighting does not equal 100x3W LED's. Typically 15-20W of LED's equals 100W of HID lighting.
So for 300W of HID you need 60W of LED (20x3Wx$5.00=$100)plus constant current drivers plus heatsinks... I bet you could get away with $250 for a 60W LED grow fixture that would be comparable to a 300W HPS bulb.

Last edited by a moderator:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
A lot of folks also try to use grow lights using conventional LEDs. I have no clue how well it works, but I've drawn quite a few diagrams for folks.

Last edited by a moderator:

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

From the wiki: