30 amp relay type question???

andrew_lbreman

Joined Jul 20, 2013
so I am a good mechanic but when it comes to electronic relays I suck. I dont know how to properly read them. The first one is my relay that is broken. The second is the one the auto parts store guy says is the same. The problem is that the original i have has a solid line coming from (the box with a line through it) to the switch. the one they sold me doesnt. Also further info... the 87 and 87a posts are in the same place on the back at the posts even though they show reverse on the diagrams. I really appreciate the help.

It wont let me insert an image or I cant figure it out, so I am inserting the link to the images on the seadoo forum. Also if anyone has seadoo questions I am happy to help. Thanks again. you can post back on here after looking at the link.

http://www.seadooforum.com/showthread.php?64107-P06-16-2008-seadoo-gtx-155-AGHHHHGHHH!!!

andrew_lbreman

Joined Jul 20, 2013
Max like I said I am a pretty good mechanic but dont know how to properly test electronics. I dont really know how to do a ohm test and also the original relay is broken. I took it out of its case and put it in a ultrasonic cleaner. I now get it to click but thats it.

andrew_lbreman

Joined Jul 20, 2013
the computer is giving me a p06 16 code which is starter relay open or grounded. somehow the power runs through this and turns everything on when I connect the key to the post (where programmed key opens a magnetic switch). the key has both an rfid chip that is read and a magnet. It sends a message to the computer and the gauge cluster comes on. the new one I have allows the gauge cluster to come on but the wiring diagram looks different and has less solid wires than the old. also when it comes on it gives the code, and will not turn the motor over when I press the start button. I know the button works because it actuates the fuel pump when I press it but doesnt allow me to turn the ski on.

andrew_lbreman