30-32volt 4A regulated dual power supply...

excuseme

Joined May 19, 2008
I need a scheme or a simple suggestion for a +/-31V 4A regulated dual power supply...

I wish to build an integrated power ampli based on ta2022 tripath's chip (2x60W 8ohm)

I've just build a lower power ampli based on ta2024, and I am really enthusiast of the result in terms of high quality sound (so that I abandoned my expensive onkyo integra for this:D).

With that ampli, I verified that the power supply was critical for audio performances, and, after lots of trials, I chosed a regulated power supply with a simple 317 adj. voltage regulator.

So I desire to use the same type of supply also in this new project, but the ta2022 needs more power (2x60W 8ohm) and a higher supply voltage (+-31 volt is the best)

I am studying how to add a transistor to 317/337 regulators to achieve higher current, but I lost myself in calculations.:confused:

I am a pharmacist, and not an electronic engeneer!
If you help me... maybe I can help you if you have doubts about medicaments.....:D

Thank you very muuch

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
The following won't be elegant or highly efficient, but it will be easy and it is a time-proven technique.

You'll want an LM317: http://cache.national.com/ds/LM/LM117.pdf

and an LM337: http://cache.national.com/ds/LM/LM137.pdf

You'll also need a bridge rectifier, and a transformer with a center-tapped 48Vac secondary. The transformer would be better if rated to supply 2 Amps or more, but a 1.5 Amp output will work. Find yourself some capacitors as well - working voltage should be not less than 60V.

Go from the following instructions, but use the bigger transformer and higher voltage caps, and adjust your regulators to your desired voltage: http://www.electronics-lab.com/projects/power/015/

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004