3 core 6 way circuit

samsam311

Joined Mar 21, 2013
Hello,

I am fairly new to the electronics game and by no means am i professional so please forgive my lack of know how when it come to more complicated devices.

I have set out to build a circuit that can light 6 different lamps individually down three cores of cable . I have done this by flipping the polarity of each combination of 2 cores (thus 2 polarities x 3 cores is = 6 possible combinations) and using diodes to prevent more lamps lighting.

If i was using only 4 lamps there would be no need for anything other than diodes but as soon as we introduce the last two lamps to the circuit there is a problem.

They need to be isolated during lamp 1-4 configuration and then for lamp 5-6 config lamps 1-4 need to be isolated. I had thought about doing this by using a transistor to isolate 5-6 and then JFET's to isolate 1-4 .

yet we must remember that only 3 cores can run into this set up from the power supply, leaving only 1 spare (changing) core to trigger the JFET's and transistor gates , and they must not effect the operation of the other 4 configurations.

Attached is a picture of the diagram i have made. I have shown the planned positions of where a break / make of the circuit must be temporarily made. Although this must be done only with the remaining spare core at the time of lamp 5-6 which happens to be core 2 . although these cannot block the current when it is needed in configuration 1-4.

I'm sorry that's a bit of a crazy idea. All i am using the transistor and JFETS for is as switches, but i remain unsure as to how i might connect them so as not to disrupt the other configurations when needed.

Thank you !

Sam

DIAGRAM

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
What you are doing is called "charlieplexing" (after one of the first guys to do this.Do goggle that term.

I just did and found this neat picture: