2n3904 - what resistor to base?

Razor Concepts

Joined Oct 7, 2008
I'm having trouble figuring out what resistor I should use on base when wiring up a NPN transistor.

So, everything runs at 5 volts. The maximum current a 3904 can handle is 100ma, so is it okay too choose a resistor for a 100ma current so anything I hook up will work as long as it takes less than 100ma?

I was poking around and found that there is a voltage drop of about .6v. So say if the transistor has a gain of 50 (not sure what the 3904 has), and I want 100ma. So I would need a 2ma current to base. So using ohms law with 4.4 volts and 2ma, I get 2200 ohms. So a 2200 ohm resistor should work with any load up to 100ma- I think.

Now how do I find the gain of the transistor in the datasheet? I am looking at this one:
http://www.fairchildsemi.com/ds/2N/2N3904.pdf

Thanks!

hi i am an engineering student in ECE branch
i think amplification in transistor depends upon resistance of collector which is forward biased.
more is collector resistor more is the amplification.
we connect resistor to the base only to prevent it from damege as base is lightly doped.

The gain of the transistor will vary slightly with the collector current. For most applications up to the 'Absolute Maximum Ratings', the typical values will suffice. You have the correct understanding of the current gain, or as I like to call it 'Beta DC'.....so you should be able to accurately measure the base current versus the collector current and derive the gain. Most inexpensive digital multimeters have a transistor checker that will give you the 'hFE' or 'Beta DC' of a PNP or NPN transistor, and that measured value will always be accurate.

Anyways, have fun!

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Actually, for the 2N3904 you'll need a bit more base current when you're running it that hard (saturated).

When Ic is 10mA, the hFE is optimal; a minimum of 100 and a max of 300.