24V,30A power suply

ali zeeshan

Joined Feb 7, 2014
hi there every one this is my first experience to post my problem in a forum
the problem is that i want to make a power supply capable of providing atleast 24 volts and 30 amps i am from asia and we have 220 volts running in our system i have a 1000 watt transformer converting 220 into 110 volts can i use that to make a power supply?
anybody help plz i am a student of electronics engineering and have made a regulating power supply but that was 24 volt 1 amp

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
I guess you can strip about 3/4 of the wire from the secondary. Aside from that, I don't see a good way to use it.

ali zeeshan

Joined Feb 7, 2014
i want dc current actually i am working on a club car which has a series wound dc motor of 3.2 hp at 48 volts and rated current about 50 Amps.this is my final year engineering project.obviously it is not a good idea to buy battery bank big as 48 volts and 100 amps and that too just for testing purpose, that is why i am willing to make a power supply of my own which can at least supply 24-36 volts and reasonable 25-30 amps i know its not going to be an easy task but i believe that it is achievable so if any body out there can help me i would be very glad and thankful Thankyou

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
Hmm.

220VAC to 110VAC from a 1000W Tx.
U think it can supply 50amps.

WRONG !

Do you know atleast P=VI
1000W = 110VAC X I
I = 1000/110
Is around 9 Amps roughly speaking ( this is not exact )

9 amps is nothing to drive ur motor.

To drive 50 Amps motor from tx would require that the supply should be able to withstand 3 times motor current for start up.

This something that a battery can provide.

even if you can rewind the transformer for say to get 48VDC at with a center tap secondary winding of 36-0-36 VAC, and to get 50A atleast you would need more 1000W

In Watts your motor draws 2.4KW. this just a rounded figure.