2 throbbing 1W White LEDs, 2 constant on 90mW White LEDs all powered by a 3.7v LiPo

xkilowatts

Joined Jun 10, 2014
Hi there, names Chris, I'm an aircraft electrician currently working F-16's. I took on a project build and I seem to have jumped in way over my head. My commander is retiring and I've been asked to build a beer cooler out of an old toolbox. So I decided to get all fancy like with it. I want to put two 1W White LED's on top that "throb" together like navigation lights on a plane do when you turn the box "on". When you open the lid I have two LED backlighting panels that will shine down onto the inside of the box. All of this was to be powered by a 3.7v 2500mah LiPo battery.

I thought I had it all figured out and went to proto it when I realized, oh no, 555 timers don't work with voltages under 5v. So I started to scour google looking for something that would be similar and I couldn't really find anything. I came across a few threads by Bill Marsden on 555 timers and some things about 7555 timers and their capability to be powered by 3v power supplies. So I am pleading with All About Circuits forum community for help with my project. I'll post my component list and a kind of mock up I have of how I wanted things to go in subsequent posts. And if anyone is interested, I'll post pictures and a video of the builds progression once I have it all figured out.

xkilowatts

Joined Jun 10, 2014