2.4 - 2.5 GHz band?

skybox

Joined Mar 2, 2009
Hi guys,

I've been looking for a transmitter/reciever (transciever) that will transmit/receive in the following range: 2.4 - 2.5 GHz. The problem I am having is that most of the modules are 100 mW or lower. Due to our range requirements for our product, this might not suffice.

Is 100 mW a power limit set by the FCC for this band?

Sorry I am new to this stuff and this might seem like a noobish question, but I am just trying to get as much knowledge as I can before I finish my design.

Thanks!

skybox

Joined Mar 2, 2009
It's a compact application so I'll probably be using dipole SMA type antennas with a 3dBi gain or above

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Here's an article that just gives you a rough idea of the bands:
http://urgentcomm.com/techspeak/radio_truly_watershed_event/

Keep in mind your transmitter output power vs antenna gain. If your product happens to exceed the FCC regulations under any circumstances, the FCC will have ABSOLUTELY NO sense of humor about it. They will confiscate all of your equipment, throw you in jail and slap VERY hefty fines on you, at the rate of around $10,000 per incident.

It is YOUR responsibility to remain within the FAA's rules and regulations. Don't rely on that article for the FAA's actual regulations. You need someone there who will keep you from going to the hoosegow.

skybox

Joined Mar 2, 2009
Here's an article that just gives you a rough idea of the bands:
http://urgentcomm.com/techspeak/radio_truly_watershed_event/

Keep in mind your transmitter output power vs antenna gain. If your product happens to exceed the FCC regulations under any circumstances, the FCC will have ABSOLUTELY NO sense of humor about it. They will confiscate all of your equipment, throw you in jail and slap VERY hefty fines on you, at the rate of around $10,000 per incident.