1st project creating a nightlight using LEDS

18point

Joined Mar 5, 2012
Hello all, this is my 1st post on this forum so ill get straight to the point:

I am designing a product that acts as a nightlight, by using a three way switch i will aiming to achieve the following settings, white light, red light and blue light . . . . operated manually for user preference.

I will also need a fourth setting, that when movement is detected the product will light up dimly, by using a PIR Motion sensor.

I am trying to design my pcb design/schematic, however i am a novice at electronics so any advice/information would be hugely appreciated.

many thanks

mcasale

Joined Jul 18, 2011
Sounds like you want a 4-way switch, which includes your "auto-on" mode?

What do you mean "when movement is detected the product will light up dimly"? What lights come on?

For doing your schematic and PCB artwork, a good tool is ExpressPCB.com

Their stuff is free and easy to learn. They also will provide blank boards, but you have to load them.

18point

Joined Mar 5, 2012
sorry mcasale reading back i wasn't to clear with explaining my intentions.

the product needs to offer the user 3 separate options of white light, red light and blue light. as well as a fourth option, which using the white led's would activate when motion is detected (using the pir motion sensor) . . . so in all 4 settings available to use and can be selected manually according to the users preference.

the fourth setting, called 'night mode' if you like, could be activated and left while sleeping in a tent, then if you was to get out of your tent in the middle of the night, your emergence would cause for a light to come on and light the area around you, therefore no tripping over tent wires etc.

my idea is to use a lithium ion 12v battery to power it, however once again I'm not sure if this would be viable either.

hopefully I've made myself a bit clearer,