>1GHz S11 minimisation

NickL

Joined Jun 20, 2011
Dear all,

I'm new to this forum, and would like to ask a question about >1GHz circuit engineering. I have a circuit which is very simple - it consists of a surface mount directional coupler from minicircuits, with the output being filtered by another couple of surface mount packages. This circuit lives in a little copper box, and my problem comes going from semi rigid coax to the microstrip on the circuit board, via an SMA bulkhead connector. I am trying to minimise the S11 of my box, but am struggling to get it below -20dB. I'm a physicist, not an engineer, and so am a little stuck.

Are there any decent tricks I can use to improve this? Any help much appreciated.

Best regards,

Nick

CDRIVE

Joined Jul 1, 2008
We're going to need more specifics. If this device is the end of the line then it must look like a 50Ω load. Does minicircuits spec the return loss?

NickL

Joined Jun 20, 2011
Thanks for the reply.

The circuit board is supposed to look like 50Ω. I think I've got that bit right. But the thing I don't know about is the launching of the signal from my SMA bulkhead onto the stripline, or into the smcs. I think that I am not managing the discontinuity in geometry well.

The specified return loss of the directional coupler is 30dB at 1GHz. I get about 18dB.

Incidently, this device is not the end of the line, but the rest of the network is also supposed to 50Ω matched.

Cheers,

Nick

NickL

Joined Jun 20, 2011
OK, here's a photo.

Looking at this, it seems to me that a major candidate for causing problems is the ground plane next to the input. Is this likely? It's just part of the recommended footprint for the directional coupler - I don't know what it's for. Shall I just take a scalpel to it?