Can you help me to understand Op Amps?

JosXD

Joined Mar 16, 2022
Hi,

First of all I'm not a circuit/electrical engineer, I'm a software developer, even tho I learned to desing pcb my knowledge is very basic( battery,resistors,leds), so If you notice I write non sense things you will know why. What I'm doing here? well kind of a hobby.

I've been watching and watching videos about Op Amps and I feel there is a thing I would like to be explained more deeply, I'm going to post 2 pictures, 1 of open loop and another of feedback resistor.

Open loop:
open_loop.png

In the above diagram there are two cases, one video said that A) If No-inverting input(+) > inverting input(-) (2>1) then positive source is shorted to output Vo=3.3v and B) if no-inverting(+) < inverting (-) (1<2) then gnd or negative souce is shorted to output Vo=0v.

But there is a thing that the video didn't mention and others yes, inverting and no-inverting will have the same Voltage, the question is how? let's take the A) option, after V+ being shorted to Vo the amplifier decreases no-inverting to 1v to equals the inverting, or put both at 0v?

Feedback Resistor:
feedback_resistor.png

This example costs more to understand, inverting input = 1v and no-inverting input = 0v, how does it flows? first the Op Amp notices inverting > no-inverting then shorts gnd(v-) source to Vo, then Op amp makes inverting input to be 0v to match the no-inverting, but what does the feedback resistor( well the videos says it controls the gain ), but does it flows from R1 to Vo or from Vo to R1?

I could think if flows from R1 to Vo beucase of the 1v input > Vo=0v, it confuses me because both should be 0v. Also could think R1 is to limit current for the Op Amp but that's not the case because the internal resistance in the Op Amp inputs are way to higher that it makes current to be too small that can be considered 0.