Need help detecting AC input with microcontroller

AverageMoss

Joined Apr 24, 2021
Hello, I'm working on a project where I need a microcontroller to detect a couple of 24 VRMS AC inputs from a thermostat. The inputs only need to be read as high or low. It also needs to be physically as small as possible as the circuit board has to fit in a small space.

I've come up with a design but I'm not sure if it would work. It uses a feature of the microcontroller called Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) and 113k ohm resisters between the input source and microcontroller pins.

I'm a little new to this stuff so any feedback is greatly appreciated. Here is the schematic:

Screenshot-1.png

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
You may only need one diode to as a half-wave rectifier on the AC input. The voltage would be smaller than with a full-wave rectifier. The input voltage would be smaller (by 1/2) but could still be detected. One diode would be smaller than a bridge rectifier.

AverageMoss

Joined Apr 24, 2021
what do you need to do ? to detect a couple of 24 VRMS AC what does detect mean ?
I just need to read the 24 VRMS inputs as high or low (on/off). For example, if the "G" input (pin 5 on the microcontroller) was high then that tells the microcontroller that the "fan-only mode" is selected.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Since the AC from the thermostat is isolated by its transformer, an opto coupler is not needed (at least for safety considerations).

Jerry-Hat-Trick

Joined Aug 31, 2022
113k ohm resisters between the input source and microcontroller pins.