How to get a specific voltage and amperage from lithium batteries?

Rikiwaka

Joined Mar 23, 2023
Hi!

I'm an absolute newbie in electronics (I'm industrial designer, working as motion and graphic designer )

I'm trying to make a bluetooth speaker... My problem is here:

I have 6 (and I ordered 6 more) lithium batteries (3.7V - 3500mA) and they have to power a bluetooth audio amplifier that needs between 5 and 24v (I would like to have between 12v and 20v) and 3A to work properly.

How can I do that?
What's the best way to connect/link my batteries? .. To get the best output..
What module do I need between my batteries and the bluetooth/ampli module?

Thank you in advance for your help!! ⚡

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
I'm an absolute newbie in electronics
You probably know that when you stack up batteries the voltages add. 6 batteries = 3.7X6=22.2V

Do you more information on the speakers. It is a little strange that they need 3A at 5V through 24V. I find it more likely that they need 3A at 5V and 1.5A at 10V and 0.75A to 20V. But we really don't know. If I am right they might run for a good long time.

Rikiwaka

Joined Mar 23, 2023
Ok, and do I just regulate the voltage by the way I connect my batteries together? Doesn't I need to put a "regulator" module or something like that between the batteries and the amp ?(I saw this on other projects)

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC. Thanks for joining, I hope you find it worth hanging around.

It is critically important that you add cell protection and a BMS (Battery Management System) to your pack, no matter what configuration you end up with.

These devices protect the battery from overcharge and overdischarge, as well as balancing the charge among the individual cells as needed. Making a battery pack properly is not a trivial undertaking. The danger of Lithium chemistry cells improperly charged is quite extreme. A very difficult to extguish and extremely hit fire is a real possibility.