Clarification on how to wire 12v PIR (3 wire) motion sensor?

eksine

Joined Feb 1, 2023
I read the information from another thread here about how to wire a 12v motion sensor but the replies confuse me a bit, can someone else please clarify this for me? This is what I'm understanding from the replies here and from amazon reviews: from the sensor we get 3 wires, connect the blue and brown wires directly to the battery to supply power to the sensor, So my confusion is the load wire. It can either be connected to the positive side of the lights or the negative side. I can tell by using common sense they are all saying connect the Load from the sensor to the positive side of the lights but user RB said and I qoute " when the unit detects movement the LOAD terminal is switched to ground" , shouldn't he have said the Load terminal is switched to power (positive)? preface I'm not an engineer, I'm just learning how to setup landscaping lights for my mom's house. the qouted thread is below:

Hi. :)

The three wires are connected like this;

+ (+12v)
- (12v ground)
load (connect the light between here and +12v)

So in use, when the unit detects movement the LOAD terminal is switched to ground. So the load (the light bulb) goes between +12v and the LOAD terminal.

Your 12v light should be no more than 40W for best reliability. :)
He also said no more than 40 watts, but my lights are 6 watt, 20 watt, and 30 watt LED floodlights. LED lights are a resistive load are they not? So it should be OK for me to use the 80 watt max load listed here? (as an example, I will go back to the product page to see the real specs of my lights).