Sourcing Wire Wrap accessories

rpschultz

Joined Nov 23, 2022
Hi,

I'm teaching an intro to Electronics class, high school level, home school, meets once/week. I'd really like them to actually BUILD something by the beginning of May - probably a 555 circuit of some type. Initially I was going to teach them to solder, but I think that is probably too difficult in the short time I have (and possibly dangerous to have 15 solder irons in a small room. So some have suggested wire wrap. I like the idea, but I'm am having a really hard time sourcing materials that don't break the bank.

A cheap 30awg tool can be found on Amazon for $25+, and wire too. But finding sockets seems difficult. Ebay has them but they are crazy expensive. I think digikey has better prices but there are SO many options I can't figure out what's best. (I'm a mechanical engineer, so electronics is just a hobby not an occupation).

I think I could have 1 tool for every 2 kids. Wire and protoboard are cheap. But I'd need to source sockets of various shapes/sizes. Hoping for $20-25/kid.

Any help would be appreciated.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I think I could have 1 tool for every 2 kids. Wire and protoboard are cheap. But I'd need to source sockets of various shapes/sizes. Hoping for $20-25/kid.
Wire wrap tools and sockets are going to be expensive because it's an obsolete technology.

What's wrong with solderless breadboards? If you're going to be making "small" circuits that you want to keep assembled, you can buy a bunch of the half boards and teach them to do compact layouts. It'll also be easier to correct wiring problems.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You probably got the concept of using wire-wrap techniques from me.

I think that one of your objectives is for students to build something that is permanent and be able to take home for show and tell. I believe that foam-board construction is a simple and inexpensive way to achieve this while using through-hole components.