Power Dissipated on a SMD Resistor

kalemaxon89

Joined Oct 12, 2022
Hi.
I am new to pcb design and I have to choose an SMD resistor to use in a project.
Currently, I have a library available (I use Altium) with these resistors:
RES_0201 ... RES_0402 .. RES_0306 and RES_1206
I understand that the numbers indicate the size (length and width) .. but I have a couple of doubts when choosing.

I need a 10k resistor on which a maximum of 20mA will flow .. i.e. Pdiss(max) = 4 W.
So I need to find out if one of the resistors I mentioned above can handle that power without breaking and causing damage.

Following this document ... I notice that on page 2 in "MAXIMUM RESISTANCE CHANGE AT RATED DISSIPATION" the maximum power dissipated is 0.4W (performed by MCA 1206). Being less than 4W .. I suppose I can't rely on those 4 resistors I wrote at the top.
Is this correct?
Did I read the datasheet correctly?
If this is correct, then I should look up (for example on DigiKey) and use an SMD resistor that holds more than 4 W and import it into Altium. This is not a problem, but what I am interested in is if I have reasoned correctly or not.

In the meantime, I also take this opportunity to ask if 4W on an SMD resistor is too much or not... I have never designed a ppcb so I have no idea what high and low values are. In any case, there are SMD resistors avaiable on DigiKey that can handle much higher power than this .. so I think there should be no problem.

Thanks!

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Why do you need to dissipate so much power?
A 2512 resistor is good for 1 Watt with no thought given to the pcb layout, or perhaps 3W with the appropriate amount of copper and thermal vias.
Surface mount resistors get disproportionately more expensive as they get bigger, so putting several smaller values in series might be an idea.
Also you need to check the maximum voltage: 10k x 20mA is 200V, and that is the absolute maximum for some SMD resistors.

kalemaxon89

Joined Oct 12, 2022