Is my PWM fan controller design good?

TheMasterXXXXX

Joined Aug 23, 2022
I am new to circuit design, and thought it would be an interesting project to develop an analog fan controller for 2 wire fans, with programmable temperature settings. If you are willing to take the time to read this description, I would very much appreciate any feedback or insights regarding the design.

The temperatures will be selected by two, 6 position slide switches, with the 6 positions labeled 40°C-90°C. One switch will be labeled 'Low Temperature', and the other 'High Temperature' (described in detail below). The device has two modes, 'PWM' and 'Schmidt Trigger':

• Schmidt Trigger - The user selects an 'On' temperature with the 'High Temperature' switch, and an 'Off' temperature with the 'Low Temperature' switch. When the temperature probe exceeds the selected high temperature, the fan will turn on. It will turn off when the temperature falls below the selected low temperature.
  • PWM - The fan will turn on, at minimal power, when the selected low temperature is reached. From that point, it will increase in power as temperature increases, and will reach max power when the selected high temperature is reached.
The device accepts an input voltage of 5V-24V, with the voltage regulation designed as follows:

voltage_regulator_and_follower.png
The op-amp output is used as a virtual ground, 2V and -2V are used as rails for the rest of the circuit.

Temperature Probe schematic:

temperature_probe.png
The probe is comprised of a thermistor based voltage divider and a voltage follower. A graphical representation of the output voltage as a function of temperature can be seen here. At 40°C, the output voltage is 0.42V. At 90°C, it is 1.33V.

Voltage Reference schematic:

Voltage_References_for_Temperatures.png
The five voltages referenced here represent the voltage output of the temperature probe at temperatures 40°C-90°C. They will later be utilized in comparison operations.