Digital to analogue convertor

ThatOtherGuy

Joined May 30, 2016
Hi everybody I am a Diesel mechanic and while I have basic auto electrical and electronics understanding I don’t have the ability to design my own component in this instance and wondered if someone may be able to help or point me in the right direction of how to build or weahter the is an off the shelf solution.
I need a digital to analogue converter for a project I am currently working on , I understand you may need more information but I’ll do my best to describe what I am after. I am needing a DAC to convert a signal from 2 separate speed sensors form a 0.65v- 1.325v square wave digital signal to an analogue A/C sine wave signal that I have measured to be 5v peak to peak with the shaft speed at 190rpm and it needs to read between 0 and 1000 rpm. The pulse wheel on the shafts has 48 pulses per revolution. Obviously, the amplitude varies relative to speed of the shafts. The system voltage is 12 volts. I’d greatly appreciate any information you can provide.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
The only thing that comes to mind is a DSP (Digital Signal Processor) that can read and store the information from the incoming pulse trains, and then after some delay synthesize the AC output waveform and run it through a low pass filter. The programming would not be all that challenging for somebody who works with DSP type stuff day in and day out. This might be a real challenge for you without some assistance. I would not think that there would be an off the shelf solution to this problem, but I'll confess that my knowledge of the auto and truck industries is limited to the automation of their factories.

Can you provide a link to the datasheets for the sensors and for the device that is receiving the AC sine wave?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
If I understand your requirements correctly, you wish to convert the frequency of a square wave to an analog voltage.