Help with LED light strip installation

asherwitt

Joined Jul 18, 2022
New to the forum so thanks for any help in advance!

I am a relative novice when it comes to LED lighting, never having really set up my own unpowered LED strips. I am doing a project in my bedroom where I plan to install an artistic design that incorporates 5 COB LED strips which I recently purchased. On wall #1 I have a light switch which controls an outlet on wall #2. My goal is to replace the rocker switch with an on/off dimmer (something like a Lutron Diva though Im open to others if necessary). I then want to power all 5 of the 5 meter LED strips installed on wall #2 from the dimmer so that I can switch them on and dim them all to the same level simultaneously. I dont necessarily need to plug them in, Im confident in my ability to wire them directly to the junction box.

I have done a fair amount of research and have found more than a few pieces of highly conflicting information about the materials required and how to wire them. Hoping someone can clarify exactly which items I need and how to set them up correctly in a manner that is relatively safe (remember Ill be sleeping in this room so heat and noise must be kept to a minimum for safety and comfort reasons). I do not know if I need drivers, what type, or how many. I also dont know what dimmable power supplies to use or how many. Lastly I dont know whether I need a specific type of dimmer. I have also read about constant current vs constant voltage power supplies/drivers, low voltage DC, magnitude dimmable power supplies, LED boost drivers, 0-10v dimmers, PWM vs TRIAC dimming, and a host of other electrical products which have only served to further my confusion. Hoping someone can provide suggestions.

The details of my LED strips are as follows...
5x COB LED strip lights: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08KG1LKZ4/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
1. Size: 5 Meter/ 16.4ft
2. Power: 9W/ Meter (ie 45W per strip)