Questions: chip selection and its consequences

taylor_totter

Joined Jul 1, 2022
Hello! I'm a programmer by trade looking to get into embedded programming. I have a product idea that I have completely developed and tested in software on my computer, but still needs to get put onto a chip. The problem is that I have little to no experience with embedded stuff (I bet you haven't heard that one before, huh?). I have a number of general questions about chips, embedded programming, and I guess life in general that I feel need to be answered by another actual human who does this kind of stuff all the time, if you'll indulge me.

For some background, my programming experience is mostly in high performance desktop software. I've made a bunch of little projects with Arduinos, a bunch of small circuitry projects, and done a little bare-metal programming on my old rpi, but that's the extent of my embedded experience. The project that I have in mind belongs in the video processing category, and for now I'm only looking to sell maybe 100 or so units.

My questions:

1. I've been searching around and researching for a couple days now, and it seems like people really REALLY like the i.MX series' chips. I was wondering if this is sort of like how if you were to read hackernews every day, you would be under the impression that all new code in the year 2022 is being written in Rust. By which I mean, are comments and recommendations from people online really indicative of the state of microprocessor programming today? I don't have any first-hand experience in this stuff myself and so I'm going off of what people on this internet are saying. I'd like to know how many grains of salt to take with their advice.