MSP430G2552 with HD44780 16x2 LCD Panel

EngineCan

Joined Sep 12, 2021
Hey there, this is my first time posting here. I definitely appreciate any and all help.

I've got a TI MSP430G2552 microcontroller that I am using, leftover from a class last semester. I also have a 16x2 LCD with the HD44780 controller/driver. I'm building the library and C files inside of Code Composer 10.4.
Despite my best attempts to get something to display on this LCD, I have been wholly unsuccessful.

I've been attempting to use the library files from this source:
http://nikosapi.org/w/index.php/MSP430_HD44780_Controller_Software

The above link was found from this site, which has several broken links from who knows how long ago:
https://www.instructables.com/C-Library-for-HD44780-LCD-Display-Controller/

Anytime I build the files, I get an error:
Capture.PNG

I have ensured that I my circuit has the LCD in 4-bit mode (versus 8-bit).

Has anyone done this or had any success? I will gladly provide more information as requested, but am stumped right now. I've been fooling around with this silly thing for a good month or so with no success.

Thank you for any and all help!

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Here is my suggestion. If you want to learn how to work with MCUs (microcontrollers) don't use any libraries.
Learn how to program your own.

Right now your problem is not programming. Your errors are as a result of using libraries that someone else wrote.
If you write your own code you wouldn't have to depend on someone else's code.

So first step.
Write code to make an LED flash.

If this is of any help to you, you can start here.

MrSalts

Joined Apr 2, 2020
http://www.wizard.org/auction_support/lcd1.pdf
http://www.wizard.org/auction_support/lcd2.pdf