I need to synchronize the clocks of three Arduino clones down to microseconds.

FractalFibs

Joined Jan 11, 2022
Hello AAC!

I am formulating a plan for a project that requires perfect clock synchronization between three microcontrollers. Now, when I say "perfect", I mean as close to perfect with the lowest error as is technically possible given the devices being used. Please know from the start that I am brand new to microcontrollers. I have some familiarity with electronics and programing but at a novice to intermediate level.

The goal of the project is to experiment with detecting the location of a gunshot, either through triangulation, trilateration, or some geometrical combination thereof and to accomplish this by using the light and sound of the shots fired.

Every project needs a name suitable to its intention, so I've dubbed a tidy little acronym for it. DOSAL or Direction Of Shockwave And Location. Think of it as a line-of-sight sniper detector. It may also, hypothetically, be used to detect the distance to a lightning strike, an incoming meteor, an explosion or any event that has a significant light and sonic signature.

For this project, I'll be using the Redboard Artemis microcontrollers from Sparkfun. Each microcontroller will have a connected sensor. One MC (the Master) will have a light sensor (transistor type) and two MC's (the Slaves) are equipped with digital microphones to detect the instant of a sound. A temperature sensor(s) may also be included for calculating the speed of sound. For the experiments, the MC's will be hardwired as a compact device located at a particular location. However, ideally, they would be individually powered and modularized then distributed at arbitrary locations, tracked with GPS and networked wirelessly for data communications. But for now, let's keep it simple.