PCBWeb Design Software

Technoglitch

Joined Jan 2, 2022
I've been working in PCBWeb Designer for a few years. I have several prototype circuit/board designs that I've put together, which I want to have made. I have the original PCBWeb Designer files for the schematic and boards, with all of the components and trace routing. Now I have a new computer and I can't seem to find a download to install PCBWeb Designer. I want to have a few hundred boards made but it seems I cannot open any of my files without PCBWeb Designer. Does anyone know if there is another app that can open the PCBWeb .CAD files?

I have the Gerber outputs and the PCBWeb files. I have only produced Gerbers, I have never started with Gerber files to try to recreate my schematics and board designs. I would hate to think I've lost years of work. I'm a Chemist, a Statistician and a self made mechanical engineer. I've had to learn electrical engineering on my own and it's really daunting to think that my inventions are lost if I can't open my schematics and board design files!

What other programs could open those PCBWeb Designer files? Is there still a way to download and use PCBWeb Designer??!!

Thanks, all.

Jon Chandler

Joined Jun 12, 2008
Hope you can find the program files.

Gerber files don't contain the information to go backwards to a schematic. You may be able to extract a netlist, but that will only tell you which pads are connected together. It won't tell you anything about the components that go on those pads. The reference designators will give a hint – R1 is a resistor, C7 is a capacitor, but it won't help with values.

Ramussons

Joined May 3, 2013