Mechanical keyboard fix

GauZilla

Joined Oct 16, 2021
Hi ! First of all i'm French so if i do some mistakes in the text please tell me. Second i'm just a technician in engineer school, i do my best to learn a lot but i'm far from an engineer.

Recently my friend's Keyboard died, he don't know why, suddently keys stopped to work. It's a pretty expensive keyboard "Asus ROG GK2000" and the fact is some functions still works like volume control. I opened it and tried to catch the problem but i'm totally lost. USB continue to send some data, i think it's normal the computer try to talk, but everything looks pretty good in it and i'm to poor in knowledge to fix it alone so i'm trying to find someone to help me and explain to me how to find and resolve the problem.

Thanks a lot if you can help me, if it's needed i could post some pics.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
Have tried the keyboard on another computer? Sometimes these fancy flashing keyboards have driver issues with OS updates.

MrSalts

Joined Apr 2, 2020
The first places I'd check..
Did the cord get pinched (breaking one of the small usb or lower wires inside)
Or, is the connector not making contact?

GauZilla

Joined Oct 16, 2021
All wires are ok, the main usb cable is very strong nothing about it..
By the way the keyboard receive data from the PC, if i do a caps lock with an other keyboard the led of Keylock is On on the broken one, same for numpad, and he send data cause the volume control works fine

MrSalts

Joined Apr 2, 2020
Are you somehow turning on caps lock from the PC? Or are you saying the caps lock button on the keyboard works because pressing caps lock turns on the LED on the keyboard?

when the keyboard is plugged into the PC, do you get a "caps lock" warning when the PC requests you enter your password to unlock the OS.

GauZilla

Joined Oct 16, 2021
If i press caps lock with an other keyboard the broken one light the Caps Key so he receive the data of the Caps ON, same for numpad

MrSalts