Need a simple circuit analyzed for its troublesome behavior

jkbrand

Joined May 8, 2021
A newbie here, so if this isn't the proper forum, please let me know.

My project involves a DPDT switch, 2 limit switches and a 12Vdc motor.

The DPDT switch is wired as shown below. I copied a circuit on the net that I thought would meet my simple requirements: pressing the momentary
(ON-OFF-ON) switch one way and the motor drives an arm until it hits a limit switch. Pressing the switch the other way and the DC motor reverses
and travels until the arm hits its limit switch. MY PROBLEM: once the arm hits either switch, the NC switch opens, the arm immediately stops--as
expected--but pressing the switch to the other side does not energize the motor.

The limit switches in the illustration below are NC. I can alternate presses of the switch (left and right) and the motor will reverse directions with
no problem, UNTIL either of the limit switches is tripped. The arm stays stuck, as if both limit switches were open.

I can't understand this behavior and am hoping a simple explanation/solution will be obvious to those more analytically aware than I. TIA of
any help here.

circuit.jpg

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
The circuit as drawn should work as you expect so your problem suggests you have something wired incorrectly. Check your circuit carefully against the diagram.

jkbrand

Joined May 8, 2021
The circuit as drawn should work as you expect so your problem suggests you have something wired incorrectly. Check your circuit carefully against the diagram.
Thanks. It's good to know the wiring shown in the drawing is functional. I was having doubts on my ability to understand a
simple circuit. I'll have a friend who knows the issue I've been dealing with, and he suggested the same thing, ie, checking
the wiring. I will ask him to check the circuit against the diagram. A different set of eyes might discover something I've
overlooked.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018